Arrivals to Switzerland from Spain must quarantine as of Saturday

Author thumbnail
The Local - [email protected]
Arrivals to Switzerland from Spain must quarantine as of Saturday

In a press conference on Wednesday afternoon, the Swiss government announced the inclusion of Spain onto its quarantine list.


The government clarified however that the ban only applies to mainland Spain, with the Canary and Balearic Islands not included on the list. 

Spain will be added to the list on Saturday, along with Singapore and Romania. Russia, the United Arab Emirates and Azerbaijan will be removed from the list. 

As reported by The Local Switzerland on August 3rd, rising case numbers in Spain had been a major concern for Swiss authorities. The Iberian nation was added to the 42-strong list of countries where a quarantine is required for all arrivals. 


Over the past weekend, the infection rate climbed above the Swiss government’s threshold of 60 new infections for every 100,000 members of the population. 

READ: Everything you need to know about Switzerland's new quarantine requirement 

Head of the Crisis Management and International Cooperation Section of the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health said the need for Spain’s inclusion was clear. 

“The situation required that the list be adjusted. The new list will come into effect on Saturday. Return travellers from Spain must be in quarantine for 10 days from Saturday.”

Typically the list of countries is updated monthly, however countries can be added where the situation has changed rapidly. 



Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also