MAP: These are Spain's provinces advancing to Phase 1 and Phase 2

The Local
The Local - [email protected] • 22 May, 2020 Updated Fri 22 May 2020 15:07 CEST
image alt text

Madrid and Barcelona were finally given the green light to advance to Phase 1 on Monday while much of Spain will move forward to Phase 2.


Spain's health minister Salvador Illa announced on Friday that Madrid, Barcelona and the parts of Castilla y Leon that had been held back would all advance to Phase 1 of Spain's "plan for transition to the new normal".

Meanwhile those regions that had spent two weeks already in Phase 1 would transition to Phase 2 on Monday May 25th.

This means all of Andalusia with the exception of Málaga and Granada which moved forward to Phase 1 only a week ago, will transition to Phase 2.

So too will Castilla-La Mancha (with the exception of Toledo, Albacete and Ciudad Real), Galicia,  The Basque Country, Asturias, Cantabria, Navarre, La Rioja, Aragón, Extremadura, Murcia, and Spain's North African city enclaves of exclave Ceuta and Melilla.

Some of Spain's islands - Formentera in the Balearics and the Canary Islands of  La Gomera, La Graciosa and El Hierro were already fast tracked into Phase 2 on Monday but will now be joined by the rest of the islands. 


In Catalonia, the healthcare zones of Terres de l’Ebre (Tarragona), Camp de Tarragona (Tarragona) and Alt Pirineu-Aran (Lleida) will move to Phase 2.

“Spain in its entirety is going to be in at least Phase 1. And 47 percent of the population will be in Phase 2,” said Illa on Friday.




The Local 2020/05/22 15:07

Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also