Spain’s Balearic Islands added to UK’s quarantine-free green travel list

The UK government announced on Thursday that the Spanish islands of Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera have been added to the UKs green travel list, meaning British holidaymakers heading to the Balearics don’t have to quarantine on return. 

Spain's Balearic Islands added to UK's quarantine-free green travel list
An evening view from the island of Menorca. Photo: Lutz Hirschmann from Pixabay

The Mediterranean archipelago – called las Islas Baleares in Spanish – were among the 14 countries and territories which were added by the UK government to the list on Thursday June 24th. 

This latest update of the UK’s eased travel restrictions comes into effect on June 30th and will be reviewed again in three weeks.

British travellers arriving in the UK from all other regions in Spain must continue to quarantine for 10 days and provide three negative PCR tests, one when flying back, another on day two and then on day eight.

“We’re adding Malta to the Govt green list. We’re also adding Madeira, the Balearic Islands, several UK Overseas Territories and Caribbean Islands (including Barbados) to the green list and green watchlist,” UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps tweeted on Thursday evening.

Shapps had previously hinted that islands would be looked at separately when the travel rules were assessed during previous evaluations, but the Balearics and the Canary Islands were left off the green list during the month of June. 

The Balearics’ 14-day infection rate is among the lowest in Spain at 48 per 100,000 inhabitants.

EXPLAINED: The European countries on UK’s ‘green’ travel lists and what that means

Around 3.9 million British tourists visited the Balearics in 2019.

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.