Travel news For Members

What travel will finally be possible this Easter in each Spanish region?

The Local Spain
The Local Spain - [email protected]
What travel will finally be possible this Easter in each Spanish region?
A beautiful 'cala' (cove) on the Balearic island of Majorca. Image: slightly_different/Pixabay

All of Spain's 17 autonomous communities, apart from the islands and Madrid, have agreed that their borders would remain closed for Easter, however, travel within some regions is possible. Read on to find out about travel within each community.


The borders of each region, minus the Balearics, Canaries and Madrid, will be closed for both Semana Santa and the Puente de San José, so from March 17th to the 21st and from March 26th to April 9th. 


Andalusia will maintain its border closure throughout the Easter period. They will also close the borders of the municipalities which have over 500 Covid cases per 100,000 inhabitants.


The President of the Valencian Community, Ximo Puig, has announced that the borders of the region will be closed for exit and entry, however its five million inhabitants are free to move around within it.


Catalonia will keep its borders closed over the Easter break. Yesterday, authorities announced that from Monday, March 15th travel would be possible between different comarcas, however this freedom may end before Easter, on March 28th, depending on the Covid situation.


Apart from the islands, Madrid is the only community that voted against closing its borders over Easter. Travel is also allowed between its various municipalities. However, as both neighbouring Castilla-La Mancha and Castilla y León will keep their borders closed, Madrid residents have little choice of where they can travel to.

Castilla-La Mancha

Like most of the rest of Spain, Castilla-La Mancha will keep its borders closed during Semana Santa. The only two provinces that will allow for travel between them are Guadalajara and Cuenca.

Castilla y León

The autonomous community will maintain closed borders but will allow for free movement between its provinces.



Balearic Islands

The Balearic Islands will not impose a border closure. Those wanting to enter the islands must present a negative Covid test upon arrival if they are coming from an autonomous community with a 14-day cumulative incidence rate of more than 150 cases per 100,000 inhabitants.

Canary Islands

The Canary Islands, like the Balearics and Madrid, will not close their borders over Easter. Travel between islands and provinces is possible, as long as they’re not in level three or four.  A negative Covid test no older than 72 hours will need to be presented upon arrival.

Galicia will maintain its border closure over the holidays. Municipalities with cases over 500 per 100,000 inhabitants will also maintain closed borders, however, travel will be allowed between municipalities that have similar cumulative incidence rates.


Murcia too will keep its community borders closed over Easter. It will also close the borders of any municipality that falls under its Extreme Alert level.

Basque Country
The Basque Country will maintain its perimeter closure. Travel between neighbouring municipalities will only be allowed for specific reasons, which include sports, other outdoor physical activity and socio-economic activities. Residents must fill out a Responsible Declaration form to be allowed to do this.  

Aragón will keep its borders closed throughout the holidays. Its borders between provinces will also remain closed until March 19th. It is unclear yet if travel between them will be allowed after this date.  

Navarra, La Rioja, Cantabria, Ceuta and Melilla
The above communities will all maintain border closures throughout Easter week.


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also