Travel news For Members

Where can I fly to in Europe from Spain right now?

The Local Spain
The Local Spain - [email protected]
Where can I fly to in Europe from Spain right now?
Photo: Javier Soriano/AFP

Non-essential international travel isn’t recommended by most countries due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, but there are a number of countries that are allowing visitors from Spain into their borders, some with requirements and others without.


As everybody knows, travelling abroad currently is a lot harder than it used to be.

You have to factor in how the pandemic is evolving in your own country, in your destination country, even how the global Covid-19 situation is going.

You have to consider the potential entry requirements, from tests to quarantine, and even how regional restrictions could possibly affect your travel plans.

But some people, for either personal or work reasons, may still want to know where it is possible to travel to from Spain currently.

The following is a list of countries - mostly in Europe - that allow travellers arriving from Spain right now, based on the latest information from Spain’s Foreign Ministry, which also offers user advice on international travel here, such as registering on travellers’ log.

It’s a constantly evolving situation so their recommendation (and ours) is to always double-check the rules and other pertinent information with official sources in the country you’re planning to travel to.

Keep in mind as well that some of Spain’s regions have closed borders currently so this may prevent you from travelling as well.


Germany: A negative Covid test is required no later than 48 hours after entering the country as Spain is currently classified as a ‘risk country’. There’s also a 10-day quarantine requirement, but that can be shortened to five days with a negative test result. More info here.

Austria: It’s mandatory to fill in an online registration form (Pre-Travel-Clearance - PTC) before travelling (max. 72 hours before starting the journey). Similarly to Germany, Austria requires a ten-day quarantine, although it can be terminated early if a PCR or antigen test is performed on the fifth day after entering the country. More info here.

Bulgaria: The Eastern European country requires a negative PCR test from all arrivals, carried out within 72 hours prior to arrival.

Czech Republic: Visitors from Spain have to get a PCR test before entering the Czech Republic, spend five days in quarantine and get a second test after then. In case of traveling from the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands, it is sufficient to have an antigen test and a second one within five days of arrival. More information here.

Croatia: The Adriatic nation requires a negative PCR performed 48 hours before entering the country or a test on arrival and quarantine until the result is received.

Slovakia: Visitor registration is required on arrival and quarantine for 14 days, with the possibility of ending it earlier with a negative PCR test on the eighth day.


Slovenia: Only travellers from countries on Slovenia’s red list are required to quarantine for 10 days, although if they present a negative PCR test it is not necessary to complete the isolation. Spain is unfortunately currently on the red list.

Estonia: A quarantine of 10 days is required for visitors from Spain. If a negative PCR test is presented (no more than 72 hours before travelling), then after the sixth day in Estonia a second test can be done to avoid having to quarantine for the remaining days.

France: A negative PCR test is required (maximum 72 hours before entering France). If travellers don’t present this, an antigen test will be carried out on arrival, as well as a seven-day quarantine in an authorised centre, followed by a PCR test after this period.

Greece: The Hellenic nation needs visitors to fill out a form with all their travel details, submitting a negative PCR test, submitting to a second PCR on arrival and a seven-day quarantine. However, in the country travel is prohibited except for justified cause in all towns.

Ireland: Ireland requires you to fill out a form and submit a negative PCR test carried out 72 hours prior to your arrival. If you’re entering Ireland from a country on its red list, you must quarantine for 14 days. Spain is currently not on the list but you can check the latest here.

Italy: Spain’s Mediterranean neighbour requires a negative PCR or antigen test carried out 48 hours before arrival. If you don’t provide it, there’s a mandatory 14-day quarantine. It’s worth noting that moving between regions in Italy is currently banned except for justified reasons, even though travelling to Italy for non-essential reasons is possible. More info here.


Latvia: Latvia requires a negative PCR test to be submitted within 72 hours prior to arrival as well as quarantine for 10 days.

Lithuania: People travelling from Spain to Lithuania must fill in a form, provide a negative PCR test carried out 48 hours before (although a PCR can also be carried out upon arrival in the country within 24 hours), and quarantine for 10 days (it can be lifted from the seventh day with a negative test) .

Malta: The small island nation is currently requiring visitors from Spain to fill out a form and submit a negative PCR test (carried out 72 hours before), except for passengers from the Canary Islands.

Netherlands: Holland expects visitors to get a negative PCR test (carried out 72 hours before) and a quick test carried out 4 hours before the flight at the earliest.

Poland: Poland requires a 10-day quarantine for travellers from Spain unless a negative test is submitted less than 48 hours in advance.

Romania: Romania requires a negative PCR test (carried out 72 hours before) and a 10-day quarantine, or 14 days if no test is provided. If the stay is going to be less than three days long, the PCR test must be carried out 48 hours before.

Sweden: The Scandinavian nation requires a negative test (carried out 48 hours before at most) for people travelling from Spain. It can be either an antigen, PCR or LAMP tests. Find out more here

United Kingdom: Spain is currently not on the UK's red list which means that visitors from Spain don't have to quarantine at an allocated hotel for ten days, costing £1,750 per person. However, they will still have to quarantine at home for ten days and provide three separate Covid tests. PCR, LAMP and antigen lateral flow tests count as valid, according to the Spanish Embassy in London.


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also