MAP: The European countries that advise against travel to Spain

The Local Spain
The Local Spain - [email protected]
MAP: The European countries that advise against travel to Spain
Airport in Palma de Mallorca. Photo: Jaime Reina/AFP

Updated: Almost all Schengen countries have issued recommendations to their citizens against travelling to certain regions of Spain because of the new Covid-19 outbreaks.


Many countries have even imposed restrictions to control the arrival of travellers from Spain.

Currently, there are only five Schengen countries who have not put warnings in place advising against travel to the country, including Luxembourg, Portugal, Romania, Sweden and Poland.

Here are what restrictions are in place in some of the most popular Schengen countries, plus the UK.

!function(){"use strict";window.addEventListener("message",(function(a){if(void 0!["datawrapper-height"])for(var e in["datawrapper-height"]){var t=document.getElementById("datawrapper-chart-"+e)||document.querySelector("iframe[src*='"+e+"']");t&&(["datawrapper-height"][e]+"px")}}))}();



Austria has issued a travel warning for all those travelling to mainland Spain, but has not included the Balearics and the Canaries. Those visiting Austria or returning from holiday must show a negative test or undergo a 14-day mandatory quarantine.


Belgium does not allow travel to Aragon, Navarra, Barcelona and Lleida. It also requires a negative test or a quarantine period for those travelling to the country from Madrid, Girona, Tarragona, the Basque Country, La Rioja, Soria, the Balearic Islands, Murcia, Almería, Castellón, Valencia and Guadalajara.


Croatia advises against all unnecessary travel to Spain.


Denmark recommends its citizens not to travel to Spain and also prohibits entry to those travelling from Spain, except under exceptional circumstances.


Mandatory quarantine upon arrival for those from Spain. 


Finland advises against travel to all of Spain and requires those travelling from the country to quarantine upon arrival.


France advises against travel to Spain, but does not prohibit those travelling from Spain to enter. It recommends those travelling from Catalonia and Aragon to present a negative PRC test upon arrival.


The German government recommends not to travel to Aragon, Catalonia and Navarra, which it considers to be 'risk areas'. Those returning to the country or travelling from Spain to Germany must quarantine upon arrival or submit a negative Covid-19 test 48 hours before arrival.


The Greek government have announced that from August 17th, travellers from Spain will have to present a negative Covid-19 test from within the last 72 hours upon arrival. 


Ireland requires a 14-day quarantine for those travelling to the country or returning from holiday.


Quarantine upon arrival for those travelling from Spain. 


The Netherlands advises against all non-essential travel to Spain and also requires a mandatory quarantine for those travelling from the Barcelona metropolitan area, as well as Segria, Figueres and Vilafranc. Caution is advised for the rest of the country.


Spain is considered a low risk country in Slovakia, but restrictions are in place for those travelling from Catalonia, Aragon and Navarra. 


Quarantine in place only to those travelling from Aragon, Catalonia, the Basque Country and Navarra. All other regions have no restrictions.


The UK advises against travel to all of Spain and requires a mandatory 14-day quarantine upon arrival.


People travelling to or returning to Switzerland from Spain must quarantine for 10-days upon arrival. Those travelling from the Balearics and the Canaries are exempt from the quarantine.


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also