Austria rolls out travel warning and restrictions for mainland Spain

AFP/The Local
AFP/The Local - [email protected]
Austria rolls out travel warning and restrictions for mainland Spain

Austria on Thursday announced it would issue a travel warning for mainland Spain and require PCR tests or quarantine for returning tourists, making it the latest EU country to do so amid a rise in coronavirus infections in the Iberian nation.


Travellers returning to Austria from mainland Spain must show a negative coronavirus test from Monday August 10th, Austria's foreign ministry said, or else undergo a 14-day mandatory quarantine.

Spain's Balearic and Canary islands will be excluded, it added.

Switzerland had already said on Wednesday it would add mainland Spain to its list of countries seen as having heightened risk of COVID-19 transmission and thus requiring travellers from there to undergo a quarantine.

Germany last week added three northern Spanish regions to its list of high-risk destinations, while France and Britain have also taken steps to limit travel from the country.

Austria already limits travel from numerous countries over virus fears, including fellow EU members Romania and Bulgaria, as well as several other Balkan states, including Serbia and Montenegro.

READ MORE: Which European countries have travel warnings and restrictions for Spain?


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also