Travel within Spain: Where can I go during Phase 3?

Travel within Spain: Where can I go during Phase 3?
Photo: AFP
As more than half of Spain’s population moves into Phase 3 of the country’s de-escalation plan, we find out which autonomous communities are allowing travel between provinces and when it will be possible to embark on cross-regional trips.

Most Spanish regions entered Phase 3 on Monday June 8th, the final stage of the state of emergency before it ends and the ‘new normal’ begins.

Phase 3 is characterised by a greater capacity for bars, restaurants, shops and cultural venues but also by more freedom of movement within Spain.

Travel between Spain’s 17 autonomous communities will technically not be allowed until June 21st, meaning for example that anyone living in a landlocked region of Spain cannot cross regional borders for a visit to the coast.

However, regional authorities in areas that have low levels of new Covid-19 infections are currently debating whether to allow cross-regional travel before June 21st, especially between bordering provinces in different autonomous communities.

In the case of Spain’s northern regions – Galicia, Asturias, Cantabria and the Basque Country – the intention is to allow unrestricted travel between them from June 15th, a week ahead of the end of Phase 3.

What has been confirmed already is the regions where interprovincial travel is now allowed, a welcome message for many looking for sea and sand as summer temperatures fast approach.

The autonomous communities that allow travel between provinces starting on Monday June 8th are as follows:

-Balearic Islands
-Canary Islands
– La Rioja
– Melilla
– Murcia
– Navarra
– Basque Country

Madrid, the Valencian region and Castilla y León will either enter or remain in phase 2 on June 8th, meaning travel between provinces will still not be allowed there.

In Catalonia, residents can move between the low-risk areas of Camp de Tarragona and Terres de l'Ebre. The Alt Pirineu i Aran area, also in phase 3, remains an independent territorial unit within Catalonia as it is surrounded by areas that still remain in phase 2.

In Castilla-La Mancha, travel between Guadalajara and Cuenca, the only provinces that are in phase 3, will be allowed.

Extremadura is the only community in phase 3 that will not allow travel between its provinces, Cáceres and Badajoz, at least until June 15th. 

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.