Ethan Hawkes to be honoured with San Sebastián award

Fiona Govan
Fiona Govan - [email protected] • 25 Aug, 2016 Updated Thu 25 Aug 2016 10:26 CEST
image alt text

The Hollywood actor will be given the Donastia lifetime achievement at the 64th San Sebastián Film Festival.


The star of independent titles including Boyhood, Before Midnight and Before Sunset, Hawke has received four Academy Award nominations although has yet to win an Oscar.

“Hawke’s career, spanning 30 years and four Academy Award nominations, has solidified his reputation as a truly multifaceted artist, challenging himself as a screenwriter, director, novelist and actor of the stage and screen,” San Sebastián festival organizers said in announcing the prize.

The award ceremony will take place in the Basque coastal city on September 17th, before a gala screening of Hawke’s latest film 'The Magnificent Seven.'

The Donostia Award is given each year to a great film personality or personalities in recognition of their work and careers. Past winners include Gregory Peck, Bette Davis, Lana Turner, Meryl Steep, Robert De Niro, Oliver Stone, Woody Allen and Ian McKellen.

 Sigourney Weaver will also receive the Donostia Award this year.



Fiona Govan 2016/08/25 10:26

Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also